Noise

My nephews visited when I moved into my house.  They are both grammar school age and helped put on new cabinet hinges, unpack, and clean.  They enjoyed running around the large, unfenced back yard and sleeping on the couch.   Bug catchers, popsicles, and hot dogs were on hand.

Later in the summer, a friend and I were sitting out on the back porch and she said the backyard could be 2/3 smaller and would be plenty for her.  I agreed and said that is about all I wonder around when in the back yard, but it was nice to have the space for my family when they visit.

I realized that this house was built for a family.  It is 3 bedrooms, full basement, and a large large back yard.  It was perfect for young kids to run and still be seen in the kitchen window. It was perfect for exploring and having space for the older, introverted nephew to get away in the basement to read for a while.    It is just my husband and I – we use the closets in the other two bedrooms but otherwise one is an office and another is a guest room.  As one friend said, “It is a lot of house for you.”

The same goes for a lot in society- things are built for families.  Packs of tickets, meal deals, events include child care.  Navigating as a child free adult can be a reminder of my ‘singleness’.  But, I enjoy the life I’ve built and have the option to choose new activities.  Volunteering with adults, going to cinemas that serve dinner (where you have to be over 16), taking a language/painting lesson, etc.  Later this week, I am taking a cooking class with a friend from grammar school.

It’s a quiet life.  It’s a good life.  It’s my childfree life.

-Elle

Leave a comment