Ornaments

I am not sentimental.  My sister kept a pair of my dad’s steel toed work boots when he passed away.  She has a few old tools from my maternal grandpa.  And, she has a Cupie doll from my paternal grandma.  I, on the other hand, keep few photos out and don’t put out many sentimental items.  I remember the time spent with the person and material items are not important to me.

For instance, I remember my maternal grandma teaching me to garden and can still taste the carrot she pulled fresh out of the garden for me and my sister to eat right then.  I remember my paternal grandma teaching me crafts like cross stitch.  Quality time is also my love language, so I know experiences and time together is top for me.

I did receive a few handmade ornaments when my paternal grandmother passed away.  I recently moved and was sorting through holiday items.  I found the ornaments and wanted to give them to family that would find value from them.  I contacted my sister who has ornaments from my grandma.  I reached out to my niece who said she would love them.  So, I packed them up and shipped them out to her . . . and never heard from her.  It turns out that these ornaments I’ve had for 27 years got lost in transit.  I filed a claim to track the package and just received a check yesterday returning the shipping cost.  That makes me sad because there was someone to love them.

I hold out hope that the package will be found and make it to her.  The contents will not mean anything to anybody but family.  These are homemade ornaments with Liberace or Elton John sparkle.

Are you sentimental?  What memories or items do you hold dear?

-Elle

Leave a comment